Trouble for Zillow

Funny – the same day techcrunch writes up zillow (again), they get hit with multiple FTC complaints.

“Zillow is placing the American dream of homeownership at risk for countless working families,” says John Taylor, NCRC President and CEO. “For a company that represents to consumers that they are the ‘Kelley Blue Book of Homes,’ this is a very dangerous situation. We call upon the FTC to intervene and ensure that Americans receive accurate appraisals and valuation information to protect the single most important investment of their lives: their home.”

“NCRC and its members are aware of a growing number of real estate and lending professionals who use the misinformation on Zillow.com to perpetrate fraud in our nation’s markets, often by targeting consumers in violation of Federal and State Fair Housing Laws.” continues Taylor. “During this time in our economy when the real estate market is changing and consumers are already at risk of being over extended due to the increased access to non- traditional loans, Zillow’s misinformation exacerbates the situation. Practices like theirs undermines the critical importance of valuation protections that benefit consumers and lenders alike, and guide the actions of all valuation professionals.”

It will be interesting to see what happens.

12 Responses to “Trouble for Zillow”

  1. Welcome to Race Piracy 2.0: Zillow.com is targetted for the crime of having deep pockets . . . | BloodhoundBlog | The weblog of BloodhoundRealty.com in Phoenix, Arizona Says:

    […] Head’s up, folks. It’s a shake-down. […]

  2. Seattle Housing Buzz » Blog Archive » Just Plain Dumb Says:

    […] You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site. « John L. Scott will continue Realtor.comfeed […]

  3. REBlogGirl Says:

    This has become an industry soap-opera. I am still a proponent of Zillow. It seems as the technology has legs, the data- well, that is a different story. But don’t all new technologies have growing pains? Zillow is a victim to it’s own adoption rate, nothing more.

  4. Marcus Says:

    12-6-06 – Read tomorrow’s news for the latest scoop! Times are a-changin’…

    http://www.condometropolis.com

  5. Ab-Soul ft Mac Miller The End Is Near Says:

    I love what you guys tend to be up too. Such clever work and
    exposure! Keep up the fantastic works guys I’ve included you guys to my personal blogroll.

  6. Deidre Says:

    It’s become such a ghost town I expect to see tumbleweed rolling down the
    middle of the street. Therefore there ended up less people thinking
    about purchasing homes. This financial bailout for
    the big banks is adding to the ever-expanding federal budget deficit
    of the United States which currently stands at around $17.

  7. costa rica House Says:

    Heya i’m for the primary time here. I found this board and I in finding
    It really useful & it helped me out much. I’m hoping to give something again and aid others
    such as you helped me.

  8. Johanna Says:

    Yesterday, while I was at work, my cousin stole my iphone and tested to see if it can survive a 30 foot
    drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now broken and she has
    83 views. I know this is entirely off topic but I had to share it
    with someone!

  9. Hazel Says:

    I pay a visit day-to-day a few web pages and websites to read articles, but this web site provides
    feature based writing.

  10. you can try this out Says:

    Hello my family member! I wish to ssay that this post is
    awesome, nice written and include almost all vital infos.
    I’d like to look more posts liuke this .

  11. Avery Vandegrift Says:

    BUSINESS LOANS UP TO $1 MILLION

  12. ctr manipulation service Says:

    ctr manipulation service

    Trouble for Zillow | real estate 2.x

Leave a comment