Real Estate 2.0 Renaming Ceremony

real estate 2.0 grave

I received a ton of great ideas for the re-naming of the real estate 2.0 blog – thank you all very much for participating in the contest!  You can see most of the entries here.

I actually received a few new-name ideas from the real estate 2.0 trademark owners themselves (via email).  Eric Heller (Redfin’s director of marketing) suggested:

1. Real Estate Revolutions
tagline: Revolutions in Real Estate

2. Real Estate Technology Wrap
tagline: The Future of Real Estate Technology (sorry about this one…I just love Joel’s blog and couldn’t resist)

3. Real Tech in Real Estate

And Sebastian Simsch (Redfin’s director of business development) offered:

1. New Millennium Real Estate
2. Next Generation Real Estate

Again, I enjoyed reading all of the comments, but in the end, I came up with real estate 2.x – not what I want, but we all know how the song goes.

I have to say, I believe that Eric @ Redfin is a good guy, by making me change the name of this blog, he is only doing what he thinks is best for Redfin (even if he is wrong and misguided).  He even invited me to lunch (if I am ever in Seattle) and asked me if I would be interested in participating in an upcoming focus group – unfortunately, I am not planning on visiting Seattle anytime soon – and I am not a focus group type of guy.

I appreciate the thought guys (Eric & Sebastian) – but it seems like you still don’t get it.  I started this non-commercial, non-revenue generating blog to voice my personal opinion on the current trends in the online real estate sector (and web 2.0 in general).  Even the names you recommended suggest very slow loading, zero search engine visibility, Internet pure-play, cash bleeding fads are the future of real estate (and the Internet).  I am here to tell you that you’re wrong…that’s the point of this blog.

New technology, if implemented poorly, does not make for a better experience.  This is where my non-trademarked tagline comes in – simple is always better.  One-click, speedy navigation will always trump two, three, or twenty-click navigation – period…Even when the end result is the coveted satellite view of a roof.

Now on with the show.

4 Responses to “Real Estate 2.0 Renaming Ceremony”

  1. RedFinesse? None in evidence. RedFaces? None to be seen. RedFiasco? None so deserving . . . | BloodhoundBlog | The weblog of BloodhoundRealty.com in Phoenix, Arizona Says:

    […] There seems to be more egg available than faces to wear it. […]

  2. George Says:

    Heh, glad to see you’ve decided to take the right path here!

  3. James Says:

    Not odd to see something like this happen. The marketing loss potential is rather huge for something coming off of a dance & puke $500 contest.

    But then again, what can you expect from a profession where they actually felt a need to trademark the name of their profession. Sometimes I feel highly embarrassed.

  4. Lorraine Says:

    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though
    you relied on the video to make your point.

    You obviously know what youre talking about,
    why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your
    blog when you could be giving us something enlightening to read?

Leave a Reply

